“Success and Failure”

I am in Navy, 23 years old and I don’t think that I am experienced enough to address such a large pool of people with such variety of experiences you all must have been through all through your lives. But I won’t miss this opportunity either…!!


Once a father asked his son Who are you? The son went blank… he said-Dad, would you allow me some time? The son came back to his Dad and said dad “I am a soldier, I am a fighter, I am a lover… Yet though I am a Mariner”. Such is the aura and privilege of the industry we all are a part of. I welcome you all to this amazing world of mighty oceans and daring seafarers.
***Now there are three things in life that I consider and they have helped me in amazing ways. They are discussed below.
  • Something to look up to- My hand folded thanks to the Almighty because that’s who I look up to, he has graced me with ample opportunities. He has shown me that it’s a scientific fact that gratitude reciprocates. In the words of late Charlie Laughton who said “When you got God you got a friend and that friend is you”.
  • Someone to look forward to- I am thankful to my family for their immense support. And they are who I look forward to. Their love, the courage and significance they have given me every day is unparalleled. They taught me and my siblings rather demanded that we respected ourselves and what we in turn learned was that we were better able to respect others. So thank you mom and dad.
  • Someone to chase to- To my hero, now that’s who I chase! When I was a child, I wanted to be like a superman, a batman or a captain America but as I grew up, I soon realized that my heroes were all fictions but then there was a lot that I could carry forward from these characters. Hardships and joys were all the part and parcel of their life and so it is for all of us but it is important we realize our purpose. For me, I can never be my hero because my hero is always five years ahead of me. You know why? – because my hero is me after five from now…and I love chasing him to the fullest of caliber.
“Every journey begins with a single step” is a very famous quote but if we put a little more light on the phrase and make an attempt to explore it. It tells us that in order to begin the smallest thing in life we need to move on. Move on from the ambiguity of our thoughts and be crisp and precise, move on from the thoughts which bring in us the perception of destination rather than enjoying the journey to its fullest. Surely if we live while enjoying the journey we’re sure to reach the destination faster.
We need to stop acting like ‘I will do it tomorrow’ rather motivate ourselves to ‘I am doing it now’. ‘Now’ is important, remember ‘tomorrow’ never comes. For every individual in life it is very important that we that we enjoy failure in life so that we can cherish and rejoice our success better.
If we analyze history, it tells us that- ‘No success was never a failure.’ Every success was once a fatal failure. When we fail in life, we not only eliminate one process that would fail us again rather we find an alternative of being a little closer to success. The intensity of the failure is a reference or the scale upon which your success will be rated. Be it the likes of legends like Mohammad Ali (the boxer) or Michael Jordan (basketball) or the Arnold (Mr. Olympia) or Thomas Edison (bulb) or Roger Federer (tennis) or be the common man achieving his daily goals. To all these kind of people, failure was never the same as it was to others. They saw failure with different perspectives. Their journey was not a single track road but indeed it was an array of different and wild co-ordinates. They never wanted to succeed in the very first attempt. They overtook their opponents by eliminating hundreds of thousands of ways of not losing to them. For them decision-making was not just an alternative between ‘right’ and ‘wrong’ rather it was an alternative between being ‘absolutely right’ and being ‘just right’.
Being successful in life may mean different to different people but the course of every journey towards the success remains the same i.e. being through failure and fatal failures and then learning from these failures. I would consider these few things very important in life I order to be anywhere close to success.
  • To have faith and belief in Almighty.
  • To have faith in yourself.
  • The willingness to fail.
  • Attitude towards the journey of life.
  • The social circle.
  • Your critics, are they close enough or are they far away. The closer they are, the better it is.***
I would like to conclude by quoting Franklin Roosevelt who said When you reach the end of your rope, tie a knot in it and just hang on.

**don’t just give up now, you have a purpose**

Leave a comment